Is mushroom haram in Islam
Different religions - different people - different diets. Belief has an influence on our eating behavior. Special dietary recommendations play a role in almost every religious community.
Religious dietary regulations are becoming more and more important in many areas due to our heterogeneous society - from communal catering to nutritional advice. Therefore, it makes sense to deal with the most important rules. Due to the diverse currents and denominations, it is not possible to illuminate the dietary regulations of the five major world religions in detail. The most important rules are briefly summarized below.
In Christianity, dietary rules do not play a major role in everyday life. There are no strictly forbidden foods. The Friday sacrifice (renouncing meat on Fridays, especially Good Friday) and the annual fasting times are known, which are practiced by fewer and fewer Christians today.
Islam and Judaism
The way Muslims and Jews deal with the food regulations today is very different, and the rules are interpreted more or less strictly depending on the denomination.
In both religions, food is essentially divided into two groups: allowed (“halal” in Islam, “kosher” in Judaism) and forbidden (“haram” in Islam, “meet” in Judaism). The prohibitions relate to the food itself as well as its production, storage, preparation and serving.
Typical foods that are not allowed in Islam and Judaism are pork and products made from it (e.g. gelatine) as well as non-ritually slaughtered (butchered) meat from various animal species. Beef, poultry, sheep and goat meat are allowed in both religions if the slaughter regulations are observed. Fish dishes are also permitted with certain exceptions. The following applies to eggs and milk (products): if they come from "suitable" animals (halal or kosher), they can be consumed.
Plant-based foods are generally allowed in both religions. In Islam, however, the condition applies that they have no intoxicating effect. Alcohol is strictly forbidden to devout Muslims. In Judaism there is another restriction: the simultaneous consumption of meat products ("meaty") and dairy products ("milky") is not allowed. Further special regulations apply in Islam during the fasting period (e.g. the fasting month Ramadan) and in Judaism during the week-long "Passover festival".
Buddhism and Hinduism
These two world religions are not widespread in Germany. In Buddhism and Hinduism, the dietary rules are not as clearly defined as in Islam or Judaism. In addition, the rules are not the same for all believers: In Buddhism, a distinction is made between members of the order and lay people, in Hinduism depending on the caste system. Buddhists generally have a vegetarian or vegan diet, as killing animals is believed to lead to bad karma and is therefore prohibited. However, there is no general ban on eating meat in Buddhism. Most Hindus and Buddhists avoid alcohol, gelatin and onion plants. In addition, mushrooms and honey are often rejected in Hinduism. In addition, Hindus are generally not allowed to eat beef, as the cow is considered sacred.
In addition to differences, there are also similarities
Even if it is time-consuming and not always necessary, it is basically feasible to harmonize all the rules of the major religions mentioned. The different religious dietary regulations are best agreed through the vegetarian kitchen. In addition, gelatine can very easily be replaced with vegetable binders and milk-based frying cream with rapeseed oil. In addition, a large number of certified halal and kosher products and ready meals are now available in stores.
Eating is more than just consuming permitted foods. Eating also means exchange, community, communication and togetherness. From belief and culture to personality and eating rules - our society is characterized by great diversity, and we should "savor" that.
Author: Isabel Lück
- What is the derivative of 3tan5x
- What does the social security tax pay for
- What is the answer to these questions
- What is medium 1
- What does a 2 week abortion look like
- What does transitive dependency mean in DBMS
- Has it ever snowed in Tempe AZ
- How do I calculate confidence intervals
- Is enlightenment creepy? Are enlightened people creepy?
- Is polygamy legal in Saudi Arabia
- Is the learning good for the students?
- Did you follow your intuition?
- What is the synonym of first and foremost
- Why don't we make our own weapons?
- How can you find dark matter
- Computer science is more difficult than finance
- How many jobs do you have
- Singaporeans trust their government too much
- Can I use PayPal in stores?
- What makes a healthy person
- What are the pros and cons of patriotism
- What is a tech startup
- What did the Roman Empire invent?
- What is extranet and intranet