Why is rock so heavy on drums

CD review Corvus Corax - Venus Vina Musica

Venus Vina Musica is an album by the German band Corvus Corax. The album was released in 2006. Corvus Corax are among the bands that can be classified as medieval rock. Corvus Corax are certainly one of the most authentic bands in this genre. With Cantus Buranus, Corvus Corax released a notable album a year earlier, some describe it as the best of the band. The album was complex and a bit bombastic. Corvus Corax will surprise you with Venus Vina Musica, because it goes back to the roots. Venus Vina Musica is a concept album with a continuous storyline. Unfortunately, it is made a little difficult for the listener to follow this action. Most of the texts are written in Latin, which is very popular today, and one in French.

It is likely that the band tells the story of a minstrel who is looking for the legendary dancer Sanyogita. His search is told, which takes him across Europe, North Africa to the Far East. There he finds her, reunites with her and makes his way home again. That was also the typical love in the early Middle Ages.

The songs

"Anti Dolores Capitis" opens the album cautiously, with beautiful Latin singsong. That sounds very mysterious and would no doubt fit well into a horror movie. With "Venus Vina Musica", the band followed up quite vehemently. The band plays itself into a true rhythmic frenzy. You feel like you are at a campfire, where the atmosphere is simmering and where you dance exuberantly. There are also pastoral chants, instrumental mastered, next to the drums, the bagpipes the song. "Urmawi" is less fast. The bagpipes have a slightly oriental touch, which is reinforced by the rhythmic background.

"Tuska" is again characterized by a lively mood. Here, too, the drums play an important role, and there are again fascinating bagpipe sounds. These can also be heard very well on "Qui Nous Demaine", but here the Celtic harp sets very delicate moments, and the French singing also sounds rather fragile. That sounds Celtic, but it also has a Japanese twist.

"Bibet Aleum" is again very drum-heavy, the determining melodic instruments are again the bagpipes. "Katrinka" sounds somehow like Russia, but musically also reminds of the corner of China / Russia (i.e. Mongolia). Who knows, the protagonist may be there right now. It's not really clear to me. Mainly because "Tertio" exudes a more Breton flair again. "Feralis Saltare" is again characterized by sacred singing, the minstrel then manages to find his "Sanyogita". Here the union of the two takes place in the dance, while the final union takes place in the beautifully accented song "Scotus". The song reminds me of classical prog in many parts. The last song "Lamentatio Coelibatus" already tells the non-Latin that one is dealing with abstinence somehow. Apparently the minstrel is being shown emphatically that one does not indulge in carnal lust. Well, that's what it takes.

Venus Vina Musica is an interesting album by Corvus Corax. The band is going musically back to the roots of medieval music. The predominantly instrumental album is characterized primarily by drums and bagpipes. Corvus Corax do without the large-scale use of any gimmicks. On the other hand, the album goes off quite well, the rhythmic pressure is considerable. You can argue about the story, but the textual context is not always clear to me. Personally, if you look at the songs as a series, the route is not very clear to me either. But that's not so tragic. Nevertheless, it would have been nice if one had made the effort to somehow make the story more transparent and generally understandable, especially with a concept album. Regardless of this, Venus Vina Musica is highly recommended, not only for genre fans.

  1. Anti Dolores Capitis
  2. Venus Vina Musica
  3. Urmawi
  4. Tuska
  5. Qui Nous Demaine
  6. Bibit Aleum
  7. Katrinka
  8. Tertio
  9. Feralis Saltare
  10. Sanyogita
  11. Scotus
  12. Lamentatio Coelibatus

Reviewer: MP