How do I block someone on Messenger

Facebook Messenger privacy settings

Instructions for controls and settings

Messenger makes it easy and fun to stay around your favorite people. You can control your privacy by making certain information private or public.

Step-by-step instructions

Block someone
If someone is bothering you, you can block them and they will no longer be able to contact you via Messenger or Facebook chat.

How to block someone:
- Of ChatsTap the name of the person you want to block
- Tap the picture in the top left corner
- tap "Block"

How to unlock someone
- Of ChatsTap the name of the person you want to unlock
- Tap the picture in the top left corner
- tap "Block"

Report someone
If you encounter any potentially harmful content or behavior, such as harassment or impersonation, you should report it.

To report someone:
- Of ChatsTap the name of the person you want to report
- Tap the picture in the top left corner
- tap "Something is wrong" and follow the instructions

If Facebook sees that it is violating their community norms, they will take the appropriate action, e.g. Such as disabling accounts or restricting the ability to send messages.

Mute someone
When you mute someone, you can ignore that person's messages.

To mute someone:
- Of ChatsTap the name of the person you want to report
- Tap the picture in the top left corner
- tap "Mute" and choose how long you want to mute the person

You won't receive notifications when that person sends you a new message, but the messages will still appear in Chats With Mute Icon next to them.

Change the story settings
You can choose to share stories with other people, friends, or specific people. You can hide your story too.

- Of ChatsTap your profile picture
- tap "Privacy"Then tap "Story Audience"
- Select the appropriate security level. It is recommended for teenagers to select that "Friends" option

How to hide your story from someone:

- Of "Story Audience"
- tap "Hide history from" Then choose who you want

Lock the app
App Lock is an optional feature that allows you to add another layer of security to your private messages and prevent other people from accessing them. A Face ID or your passcode is required to activate Messenger.

To activate the app lock:
- Of ChatsTap your profile picture
- tap "Privacy"Then tap "App Lock"
- Tap the switch until it turns green to enable face detection
- tap "Enable" Then choose when you want to enable Face ID

Control who sees when you are active
An active status shows your friends and contacts if you are active or have recently been active on Facebook or Messenger. You can also see when your friends and contacts are active or have recently been active.

To deactivate the active status:
- Of ChatsTap your profile picture
- tap "Privacy"Then tap "Active status"
- Tap the switch and then tap "Turn off". The toggle function should turn gray

Remove a message you sent
You can permanently remove a message that you sent for everyone in the chat or just yourself.

To remove a sent message:
- Open a messenger conversation
- Tap and hold the message you want to remove
- tap "Moreā€¦" Then tap "Remove for you" or "Do not send for everyone"
- Then tap "Clear" anew

You can only remove a message for everyone in the chat up to 10 minutes after sending a message.

Look for guides

Use search to find device, platform, and network manuals, or let us know if you still can't find a guide.